HOTARU

The soil of Berlin likewise prompted the performative sound installation HOTARU by Dirk Dresselhaus (Schneider TM) and the dancer Tomoko Nakasato (Mio). Dresselhaus’s construction-site score is supported by musicians Jochen Arbeit (Einstürzende Neubauten), Werner “Zappi” Diermaier (Faust), and Neta Polturak (Moon Gear). Using industrial machinery and tools as instruments, the four musicians evoke the neighbourhood development while tackling a section of sealed ground on the last remaining patch of wasteland at the Skulpturenpark Berlin_Zentrum. “Hotaru” is Japanese for “firefly.” Compacting the earth and redirecting rivers by means of concrete dams destroys the natural habitats of those fireflies and other aquatic and terrestrial creatures that would otherwise enrich our built environment in peaceful coexistence. In a choreography conceived especially for the occasion, Tomoko Nakasato will summon Berlin’s fireflies to return.



26. September 2021


18:00  - 19:30

HOTARU  »

with Dirk Dresselhaus (SchneiderTM) & Tomoko Nakasato (Mio)



Dirk Dresselhaus (Schneider TM) & Tomoko Nakasato (Mio)

"Dirk Dresselhaus (a.k.a. Schneider) has been active in various musical fields since the late 80s. His project Schneider TM is considered as one of the inventors of the music genre Indietronic or Indietronica. Since 1998 Schneider TM played several hundred international live concerts including some renowned festivals like CTM (Berlin), Sonar Festival / Sonar Sound (Barcelona, Roma, Tokyo), Mutek (Montreal, Mexico City), Arty Farty (Lyon), Pukkelpop (Hasselt), Hultsfred Festival (Hultsfred), Kilbi Festival (Bad Bonn), Frieze Art Fair / Frieze Music (London), Phonem Festival (Istanbul), Numero Festival (Lisboa), Les Siestes électroniques festival (Toulouse), Melt Festival (Gräfenhainichen), Midi Festival (Hyéres), Motomix Festival (Sao Paolo), Todaysart Festival (The Hague), Dark Mofo (Hobart) etc. Dirk Dresselhaus lives and works in Berlin. 

Tomoko Nakasato (Mio) is from Hokkaido, Japan. She began her career in the 1990s as a hip-hop street dancer. At the same time, she took classes in contemporary dance and ballet. Her contemporary dance & physiognomic background, which complements the combination of her street dance experience with ballet methods, has made her a successful improvisational performer, especially in collaboration with experimental electronics & free noise music. From 2011 to present she has worked with artists and musicians such as Ilpo Väisänen (Pan sonic, Angel), Dirk Dresselhaus (Schneider TM, Angel etc.), Jochen Arbeit (Einstürzende Neubauten), Damo Suzuki (Ex-Can), Clara Hill and Takehito Koganezawa and Frank Bretschneider (Raster-Noton). She also collaborated with Marcello Lussana, a software engineer and free thinker who specializes in interactive systems in which movement can control and manipulate sound through sensors. Tomoko Nakasato lives and works in Berlin. "

HOTARU

Der Berliner Boden ist auch Anlass für die performative Sound-Installation HOTARU von Dirk Dresselhaus (Schneider TM) und Tomoko Nakasato (Mio). Unterstützt wird Dresselhaus’ Baustellenpartitur von den Musikern Jochen Arbeit (Einstürzende Neubauten), Werner „Zappi" Diermaier (Faust) und Neta Polturak (Moon Gear). Mit industriellen Maschinen und Werkzeugen als Musikinstrumente rufen die vier Musiker die Nachbarschaft wach und bearbeiten zugleich ein Stück versiegelten Boden auf der letzten verbleibenden Brachfläche des Skulpturenparks Berlin_Zentrum. Hotaru ist das Japanische Wort für Glühwürmchen. Durch Bodenversiegelung und Einbetonierung der Flüsse werden Glühwürmchen und andere Wasser- und Bodenkreaturen ihrer natürlichen Lebensräume beraubt, anstatt unsere gebaute Umwelt in friedlicher Kohabitation zu bereichern. In einer eigens für diesen Anlass konzipierten Choreografie beschwört die japanische Tänzerin Tomoko Nakasato die Berliner Glühwürmchen zur Rückkehr.



26. September 2021


18:00  - 19:30

HOTARU  »

with Dirk Dresselhaus (SchneiderTM) & Tomoko Nakasato (Mio)



Dirk Dresselhaus (Schneider TM) & Tomoko Nakasato (Mio)

Dirk Dresselhaus (a.k.a. Schneider) ist seit den späten 80er Jahren in verschiedenen musikalischen Bereichen aktiv. Sein Projekt Schneider TM wird als einer der Erfinder des Musik Genres Indietronic oder auch Indietronica genannt. Seit 1998 spielte Schneider TM mehrere hundert internationale Live Konzerte inklusive einiger renommierter Festivals wie CTM (Berlin), Sonar Festival / Sonar Sound (Barcelona, Roma, Tokyo), Mutek (Montreal, Mexico City), Arty Farty (Lyon), Pukkelpop (Hasselt), Hultsfred Festival (Hultsfred), Kilbi Festival (Bad Bonn), Frieze Art Fair / Frieze Music (London), Phonem Festival (Istanbul), Numero Festival (Lisboa), Les Siestes électroniques festival (Toulouse), Melt Festival (Gräfenhainichen), Midi Festival (Hyéres), Motomix Festival (Sao Paolo), Todaysart Festival (Den Haag), Dark Mofo (Hobart) etc. Dirk Dresselhaus lebt und arbeitet in Berlin.

Tomoko Nakasato (Mio) kommt aus Hokkaido, Japan und begann ihre Karriere in den 1990er Jahren als Hip-Hop Streetdancer. Gleichzeitig nahm sie Unterricht in zeitgenössischem Tanz und Ballett. Ihr zeitgenössischer Tanz & physiognomischer Hintergrund, der die Kombination ihrer Streetdance-Erfahrung mit den Ballettmethoden ergänzt, hat sie zu einer erfolgreichen Improvisations-Darstellerin gemacht, vor allem in Zusammenarbeit mit experimenteller Elektronik & freier Noise Musik. Von 2011 bis heute arbeitete sie mit Künstlern und Musikern wie Ilpo Väisänen (Pan sonic, Angel), Dirk Dresselhaus (Schneider TM, Angel etc.), Jochen Arbeit (Einstürzende Neubauten), Damo Suzuki (Ex-Can), Clara Hill und Takehito Koganezawa und Frank Bretschneider (Raster-Noton). Sie kollaborierte auch mit Marcello Lussana, einem Software-Ingenieur und freiem Denker, der spezialisiert auf interaktive Systeme ist, in denen Bewegung durch Sensoren Klang steuern und manipulieren kann. Tomoko Nakasato lebt und arbeitet in Berlin.